I enjoyed presenting again at RM’s series of national conferences and met a lot people passionate about using ICT to improve teaching and learning. There was a range of speakers at the events including Stephen Heppell. I first saw Prof Heppell speak many years ago (early 90s I think) to a group of Heads of ICT about the upcoming (but ill-fated) Apple Newton. His understated enthusiasm is still as refreshing and his comments on the likely shape of future education were thought-provoking. I couldn’t agree more with another speaker, Dame Mary MacDonald, who argued with passion against the current obsessions for testing, measuring and assessing. And I once again laughed at the anecdotes of that great raconteur Gervais Phinn.

My presentation had to be adapted and shortened for a final conference focusing on the Primary Capital Programme for an audience of architects, builders, head teachers and LA planners. It was this presentation that was recorded…

